Embryo Transfer Day #2

Embryo Transfer Day #2

PossibilityKeepsMeGoingQuote

The transfer yesterday went as well as could be expected. It was literally the same set-up as last time. We arrived at the clinic early to meet with an acupuncturist. Unfortunately, my acupuncturist was having surgery and was unable to make it. She found a sub for me that was fabulous! Just like last time, we did the session in an exam room that wasn’t being used at the time. This didn’t make for the most comfortable session, but I still managed to get in a good 30 minutes of zen before the transfer.

MeBeforeTransfer
Me post-acupuncture (and Valium) and ready to rock!

The clinic was running a tad behind, which put our acupuncture session a little behind. I ended up taking my Valium right before we got started, which I think helped me get deep into relaxation. Although it wasn’t an ideal set-up, it was one of the best sessions I’ve had in a long time.

From there, I managed to chug 32 ounces of water. I knew that was probably going to be too much based on the bladder test I did last time. And I was right. By the time our session was over, I REALLY had to pee. I had that borderline-going-to-pee-my-pants painful and definitely uncomfortable kind of urge to pee. By the time I got to the procedure room, I was in agony. The nurse looked at my bladder using via ultrasound and it was huge! Too big in fact. I had to go to the restroom and empty some. It was all I could do to not let it all go, but I basically stopped once that painful feeling went away and then we got started.

FormaneksBeforeTransfer
Me & The Mr!

The IVF Suite is almost sanctuary-like (as far as medical procedural rooms go). Although it’s a little chilly, the lighting is very soft. It’s quiet and there’s calming music playing overhead. I think John Mayer was playing softly in the background. Normally I would gag at the sound, but whatever song was playing was actually the perfect background music. I laid down on the table and put my legs up in the stands (leg stirrups?). This time I wore Super Hero-themed knee-high socks (because every super women needs super hero knee-high socks, duh!). I remember my legs were pretty chilly during the last transfer.

The procedure itself took a little longer than the last one. I wasn’t sure what was going on at the time, because it’s a very quiet procedure and there’s very little talk between the crew. I heard a few murmurs between the doctor and nurse, but that was about it. The transfer is done by way of ultrasound, so I could see the catheter going in and out a couple of times on the screen, until finally the embryo shot out of the catheter into place.

Just as that happened, I felt an overwhelming sense of hope. I actually got a little emotional and quietly shed a few tears. No matter what the outcome, it is truly a miracle that we are in the position we are in and have this opportunity. As the nurse handed me my “baby’s first photo” I wanted to say to them all, “THANK YOU for what you do and for using your gifts to help people like me!” But, I was too overcome with emotion.

Afterwards, the nurse explained that the trial transfer (which is something they always do before the actual) went great, but then just at the moment of the transfer, my bladder swelled just enough to make it a little more difficult to get the catheter in just the right spot. Even though it was a little tricky, it went in and made it’s way into the appropriate spot.

LittleEmbie2
Baby’s First Photo – that little white dot is our embie!

Eventually the team left, so I could complete the required 10 minute resting period. With my husband at my side, I laid there with a very full bladder and very full heart.

After resting and fully emptying my bladder (my bladder was quite the ordeal this time around! Ha!), I made my way back to the acupuncture room for the after-session. My husband and I were on the road about 40 minutes after the transfer.

The after-care instructions were to just relax. And that’s exactly what I did. I rested comfortably on the couch with our pooch and got caught up on my DVR’d shows and favorite magazines. Normally, I would do this type of thing with a glass of wine, but this glass was full of good ol’H2O.

RelaxingAfterTransfer
Post-transfer with my Sock It To Me Super Hero knee-highs. Because every super women needs super hero socks.

And that was that. The plan is to continue taking the Estrace, Baby Aspirin and Endometrin through my first beta pregnancy test, which is in 1-week (already!). That test measures the amount of human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG) hormone emitted by the developing embryo. There are a couple of follow-up tests from there, but let’s just take things one test at a time. Here’s to hoping for a positive results! ❤

4 thoughts on “Embryo Transfer Day #2

Leave a comment