That GD Test

That GD Test

29 weeks + 1 day

Tuesday was the dreaded day — glucose screening day! This screening is designed to measure my blood sugar levels an hour after drinking a special beverage chalk-full of pure glucose. If those first test results are higher than normal, then a second test is done to actually diagnose gestational diabetes (GD).

The second test sounds like a doozy. You have to drink even more of the special glucose beverage (which contains even more glucose than the first one) and 3 more tests are run over the span of 3 hours. If you fail 2 of the 3 tests, then they can make the diagnosis.

In talking with my OB, she said a few more interesting things about the test. It doesn’t matter what your size is, how you eat, or how much weight you’ve gained during pregnancy, gestational diabetes does not discriminate based on your health or way of living. If you are thin, eat a well-balanced diet and are active during pregnancy, it does not necessarily mean you are going to pass. If you are overweight or gained a lot of weight during pregnancy and eat a ton of junk food, it doesn’t necessarily mean you’re going to fail.

It comes down to how well your body compensates for the insulin that is being blocked while the hormones produced by the placenta prevent the mother from developing low blood sugar. Typically the mother’s body will compensate by producing more insulin, but that’s not always the case.

Gestational diabetes affects 1 in 10 pregnant women. So while gestational diabetes is one of the more common pregnancy complications, it is also one of the most manageable. If a diagnosis is made, then you meet with a nutritionist to learn about your new diet and you will need to measure your blood sugar levels multiple times a day throughout the rest of your pregnancy. GD typically goes away soon after giving birth.

The most common risk to the baby if you have GD is a big baby. Extra glucose in the mother’s bloodstream crosses the placenta and triggers baby’s pancreas to make extra insulin, which makes it grow too large. A big baby could translate into needing a c-section.

On testing day, I had to slam a soda-like concoction of lemon-lime flavored syrup. It sort of tasted like a flat Sprite, but the level of glucose in it made it thicker than soda. I don’t drink soda anymore, so at first it was kind of a treat. After a few sips, it got to be way too much and really heavy in my belly. I fought my way through it until the final last gulp, which was completely nasty. I felt really full afterwards and pretty much burped my way to the appointment.

Here are a few ways I tried to make the drinking experience a little better…

  • Drink it chilled! Unfortunately you can’t pour this drink over ice because the ice will dilute the mixture as it melts. I highly recommend putting it in the fridge for an hour or so before you have to drink it. I haven’t had it warm before, but I think it would be really gross at room temperature.
  • Drink it in a glass! Since I had to drink this at work, I used one of our red plastic cups. If I were at home, I probably would have had more fun with it and put it in a wine glass. The little plastic bottle my glucose bevvie came in reminded me of the cough syrup we used to have to keep in the fridge when I was a kid.
  • Take large gulps! I had to drink the stuff within 5-10 minutes about 30 minutes before my appointment, so it helped to drink it in about 5 big gulps. The larger the gulp, the quicker your way through it in the time required. Otherwise, I think it would take way too long to drink just due to taste and consistency.

I made it to the appointment and had my regular prenatal check-up with my OB before they drew my blood. I also got the Tdap shot, which contains the vaccines for 3 potentially life-threatening bacterial diseases: tetanus, diphtheria, and pertussis (whooping cough). I opted to get this shot to pass the antibodies to Baby F before she’s born. The antibodies will help protect her in the first few months of her life. I know not everyone is on the same page when it comes to vaccines, so do what you feel is best for you and your baby. I will say, that if you do decide to get this shot, or any other one while pregnant for that matter, get it in your RIGHT arm. I picked the left and couldn’t sleep on my left side for 2-days because it hurt so bad.

The doctor at my last appointment at the Fetal Medicine Center, where I have been going for ultrasounds to monitor baby’s kidneys, was convinced I had gestational diabetes based on the baby’s size. If we’re just looking at her size, then I figured it could go either way, especially since my husband was the smallest of his brothers at 8.5 lbs at birth.

I didn’t have to wait too long for the results, as they were in on Wednesday morning. I am happy to report that I passed! WOO!

That night I celebrated with a mini Royal Oreo Blizzard from Dairy Queen. It was divine.

One thought on “That GD Test

Leave a comment